deenit

Powered by Google Translate

Scrum and classic: The best of two worlds

Hybrid models combine agile methods and classic project management.

Carsten Severin

As Head of Project Management Office (PMO) at KUMAVISION, he is responsible for the project implementation and is a certified Project Management Professional (PMP) ®, Scrum Master and product owner.

"I think it is tempting if the only tool you have is a hammer to treat everything as if it were a nail." The American psychologist Abraham Maslow used this simple picture to demonstrate a basic principle of human approaches Point: If I only know one way to solve a challenge, I'll straighten everything out until my way fits the problem. No matter how sensible or efficient this procedure is. It is therefore important to have more than one tool in your case in order to be able to meet changing challenges with different strategies.

 

Methods are used to achieve the goal

This flexibility is essential, especially in project management, and is expressly desired by all parties. No procedural model - whether agile or classic - claims to offer the optimal solution for every project. That's why project management has always been much less dogmatic than you might think. As a rule, project managers think and act pragmatically and use the methods that are best suited to achieve the project goals. Whether these can be assigned to the classic or agile approach plays a subordinate role. Anything that brings success is allowed. And so apparent contradictions come together. Even if Scrum and classic project management are diametrically opposed in their approach and structure, they can still be used together.

 

Hybrid models combine agile methods and classic project management

But what could a sensible combination look like? A look back at the last article in this series. There we worked out the strengths and weaknesses of the different approaches. Roughly speaking, classic project management shows its strengths when it is clear from the start what should be the end. Scrum, on the other hand, best puts its horsepower on the road when the end result can only be precisely defined during development. Especially with large and long-term projects, it can make sense to combine the best of two worlds. It makes sense to structure the entire project into smaller sub-projects. The big bracket is the phase-based, classic project management. The individual sub-projects are completed as milestones with subsequent reviews. This keeps the overall project clear and transparent. The subprojects themselves can then - depending on requirements - be handled in an agile manner. In a software project, there would be an executable and already presented system at every milestone. Thus, the customer is always on board and the risk of fundamental undesirable developments is very low.

 

Hybrid project management is the future

Managing large projects with a hybrid model sounds very logical and obvious. The flip side of the coin is that those involved need a high level of methodological knowledge in both worlds. This is the only way to be sure when and which approach promises more benefits and how a tailor-made concept can be developed from it. But precisely against the background of the rapidly advancing digitalization and the resulting large-scale projects with a high inherent dynamic, hybrid-led projects will increase strongly in the future.

Infographic hybrid project approach

 

The implementation is well equipped

To come back to the picture by Abraham Maslow mentioned at the beginning: For hybrid project management, those involved need a hammer, screwdriver, pliers, saw and much more in their tool case. And above all a partner who knows how to handle it.

 

More articles from the blog series "Agile Projects"

Blog article AgileProjects Scrum

Project management - a success story

 

Blog article AgileProjects Scrum

Project management - such a theater

 

Blog article AgileProjects Scrum

Scrum vs. classic: one race, two winners

deenit

deenit

Powered by Google Translate

Scrum und klassisch: Das Beste aus zwei Welten

Hybride Modelle vereinen agile Methoden und klassisches Projektmanagement.

Carsten Severin

Verantwortet als Head of Project Management Office (PMO) bei KUMAVISION die Projektimplementierung und ist zertifizierter Project Management Professional (PMP)®, Scrum-Master sowie Product-Owner.

„Ich glaube, es ist verlockend, wenn das einzige Werkzeug, das man hat, ein Hammer ist, alles zu behandeln, als ob es ein Nagel wäre.“ Der amerikanische Psychologe Abraham Maslow brachte mit diesem einfachen Bild ein grundlegendes Prinzip menschlicher Herangehensweisen auf den Punkt: Wenn ich nur einen Weg kenne, eine Herausforderung zu lösen, werde ich alles so zurechtbiegen, bis mein Weg zum Problem passt. Egal wie sinnvoll oder effizient dieses Vorgehen ist. Deshalb ist es wichtig, mehr als ein Werkzeug im Koffer zu haben, um wechselnden Herausforderungen mit unterschiedlichen Strategien begegnen zu können.

 

Methoden dienen dazu, das Ziel zu erreichen

Diese Flexibilität ist gerade auch im Projektmanagement essenziell und von allen Seiten ausdrücklich erwünscht. Kein Vorgehensmodell – ob agil oder klassisch – erhebt den Anspruch, für jedes Vorhaben vollumfänglich die optimale Lösung zu bieten. Deshalb war Projektmanagement auch schon immer viel weniger dogmatisch, als man das vielleicht vermuten würde. In der Regel denken und handeln Projektleiter pragmatisch und nutzen die Methoden, die am besten geeignet sind, die Projektziele zu erreichen. Ob diese dem klassischen oder agilen Ansatz zuzuordnen sind, spielt eine untergeordnete Rolle. Erlaubt ist, was den Erfolg bringt. Und so finden scheinbare Gegensätze zusammen. Auch wenn Scrum und klassisches Projektmanagement in Ansatz und Struktur diametral gegenüberstehen, so können sie doch gemeinsam angewendet werden.

 

Hybride Modelle vereinen agile Methoden und klassisches Projektmanagement

Aber wie könnte eine sinnvolle Kombination aussehen? Dazu lohnt ein Rückblick auf den letzten Artikel dieser Reihe. Dort haben wir die Stärken und Schwächen der unterschiedlichen Ansätze herausgearbeitet. Grob gesagt spielt klassisches Projektmanagement seine Stärken aus, wenn von Anfang an klar ist, was am Ende stehen soll. Scrum bringt seine PS dagegen am besten auf die Straße, wenn das Endergebnis erst während der Entwicklung exakt definiert werden kann. Gerade bei großen und langfristig angelegten Projekten kann es daher sinnvoll sein, das Beste aus zwei Welten zu kombinieren. Dazu bietet es sich an, das gesamte Vorhaben in kleinere Teilprojekte zu strukturieren. Die große Klammer ist das phasenbasierte, klassische Projektmanagement. Die einzelnen Teilprojekte werden als Meilensteine mit anschließenden Reviews abgeschlossen. So bleibt das Gesamtprojekt übersichtlich und transparent. Die Teilprojekte selbst können dann – je nach Bedarf – agil abgewickelt werden. In einem Softwareprojekt würde dann an jedem Meilenstein ein lauffähiges und bereits präsentiertes System stehen. Somit ist der Kunde immer mit im Boot und das Risiko von grundlegenden Fehlentwicklungen ist sehr gering.

 

Hybrides Projektmanagement ist die Zukunft

Große Projekte mit einem Hybridmodell zu managen klingt also sehr logisch und einleuchtend. Die Kehrseite der Medaille ist, dass die Beteiligten ein hohes methodisches Wissen in beiden Welten brauchen. Denn nur damit lässt sich sicher entscheiden, wann welcher Ansatz mehr Vorteile verspricht und wie sich daraus ein maßgeschneidertes Konzept entwickeln lässt. Aber gerade vor dem Hintergrund der rasant fortschreitenden Digitalisierung und den daraus resultierenden Großprojekten mit einer hohen inhärenten Dynamik werden hybrid geführte Projekte in Zukunft stark zunehmen.

Infografik hybrides Projektvorgehen

 

Gut ausgerüstet gelingt die Umsetzung

Um auf das eingangs erwähnte Bild von Abraham Maslow zurückzukommen: Für hybrides Projektmanagement brauchen die Beteiligten Hammer, Schraubenzieher, Zange, Säge und vieles mehr in ihrem Werkzeugkoffer. Und vor allem einen Partner, der damit umzugehen weiß.

 

Weitere Artikel der Blogreihe "Agile Projekte"

Blogartikel AgileProjekte Scrum

Projektmanagement – eine Erfolgsgeschichte

 

Blogartikel AgileProjekte Scrum

Projektmanagement – so ein Theater

 

Blogartikel AgileProjekte Scrum

Scrum vs. klassisch: ein Wettlauf, zwei Gewinner

deenit